Wednesday, October 20, 2010

The United Mexican States are a federation of thirty-one free and sovereign states, which form a union that exercises jurisdiction over the Federal District and other territories. Each state has its own Constitution and Congress, as well as a judiciary, and its citizens elect by direct voting, a governor for a six-year term, as well as representatives to their respective unicameral state congresses, for three-year terms.[62]
The states are also divided into municipalities, the smallest administrative political entity in the country, governed by a mayor or municipal president (Presidente municipal), elected by its residents by plurality.[63] Municipalities can be further subdivided into non-autonomous boroughs or in semi-autonomous auxiliary presidencies.
Constitutionally, Mexico City, as the capital and seat of the federal powers, is the Federal District, a special political division that belongs to the federation as a whole and not to a particular state, and as such, has more limited local rule than the nation's states.[64] Since 1987, it has progressively gained a greater degree of autonomy, and residents now elect a head of government and representatives of a Legislative Assembly directly. Unlike the states, the Federal District does not have a Constitution but a Statute of Government. Mexico City is coterminous and coextensive with the Federal District.
Administrative Divisions of Mexico
State Capital State Capital State Capital State Capital
 Aguascalientes Aguascalientes  Federal District Mexico City  Morelos Cuernavaca  Sinaloa Culiacán
 Baja California Mexicali  Durango Durango  Nayarit Tepic  Sonora Hermosillo
 Baja California Sur La Paz  Guanajuato Guanajuato  Nuevo León Monterrey  Tabasco Villahermosa
 Campeche Campeche  Guerrero Chilpancingo  Oaxaca Oaxaca  Tamaulipas Ciudad Victoria
 Chiapas Tuxtla Gutiérrez  Hidalgo Pachuca  Puebla Puebla  Tlaxcala Tlaxcala
 Chihuahua Chihuahua  Jalisco Guadalajara  Querétaro Querétaro  Veracruz Xalapa
 Coahuila Saltillo  Mexico State Toluca  Quintana Roo Chetumal  Yucatán Mérida
 Colima Colima  Michoacán Morelia  San Luis Potosí San Luis Potosí  Zacatecas Zacatecas